Fosse! Fosse! Fosse!

Bob Fosse

Bob Fosse

If you know me, you know this is a double-edged dance reference: first, one of my favorite movies of all time, “The Birdcage” – you know, the scene where Robin Williams’ character is trying to inspire a less-than-enthusiastic performer with an “eclectic celebration of the dance!”


Secondly, it is an apt reference to the man with all that jazz – Bob Fosse. His influence on Broadway and film is still being keenly felt decades after his death, and his iconic style is one of my favorites! There is a new book on Fosse, and I love this review by Dana Gachman on Sam Wasson’s book, Fosse.

http://lareviewofbooks.org/review/bob-fosse-bejeweling-horror/

2 thoughts on “Fosse! Fosse! Fosse!

  1. Thanks for posting!!
    This scene is so interesting. I haven’t seen the movie before, but I searched some information about this movie which made me desired to watch it. Albert is funny!! He is a fantastic drag queen!! Also, when Robin (Armand) teaches the man Fosse, Martha Grahm, and Madonna, I can’t stop laughing! It’s awesome and really inspiring!!
    I’ve seen some clips of “all that jazz” from “Chicago”, the jazz is impressed. Although the range is small, the dance is so special and charming. I wish I can watch a Broadway show someday!!!

  2. I haven’t watched this movie before, but after watching this scene, I really want to watch the whole movie. Albert is a drag queen, so at the beginning of this scene, he wears high-heels and dresses as a woman. I think that his actions when he is singing are almost 100% choreo-musical, and his facial expressions are really funny. Albert is a character which is full of comedy. In addition, l like the part that Armand does the demonstration for the man. It is so funny that I have watched it repeatedly. Thank you for sharing such a good movie with us.

Leave a Reply

